Hit Enter to search or Esc key to close

New Delhi

New Delhi (/ˈdɛli/ (About this soundlisten),[5] Hindi: [ˈnəiː ˈdɪlːiː] Naī Dillī) is the capital of India and an administrative district of NCT Delhi. New Delhi is also the seat of all three branches of the government of India, hosting the Rashtrapati Bhavan, Parliament House, and the Supreme Court of India. Delhi itself is often considered as a hub for international trade.

The foundation stone of New Delhi was laid by Emperor George V during the Delhi Durbar of 1911.[6] It was designed by British architects Sir Edwin Lutyens and Sir Herbert Baker. The new capital was inaugurated on 13 February 1931,[7] by Viceroy and Governor-General of India Lord Irwin.

Although colloquially Delhi and New Delhi are used interchangeably to refer to the National Capital Territory of Delhi (NCT), these are two distinct entities, with New Delhi forming a small part of the city of Delhi. The National Capital Region is a much larger entity comprising the entire NCT along with adjoining districts in neighbouring states which includes but is not limited to Ghaziabad, Noida, and Faridabad.

Tours You Like

Delhi – Shimla 3N/4D Package

New Delhi 0 review(s) 3N/4D days
₹10,000 Tour list image

Delhi – Manali 3N/4D Tour

New Delhi 0 review(s) 3N/4D days
₹10,000 Tour list image

Delhi – Shimla – Manali 5N/6D Tour

New Delhi 0 review(s) 6 days
Translate »